We are re-opening all the practices on the 1st July Monday to Friday 9-5
Online booking is temporarily suspended. Please call the practice to book an appointment. We are required to ask a few questions before we can book you in to ensure we meet COVID-19 guidelines.
An important update on Covid-19 and our stores

An update on the Covid-19 virus and our stores

Given the unprecedented situation in the UK regarding the COVID-19 virus we feel that it is important to reassure you that we are continuing to keep our practice clean and safe for both you and our team. We intend to keep the practices open for as long as possible to provide the service that is needed for our patients.

You will appreciate that as an optical practice we work in an environment where the prevention of the spread of a whole range of infections is woven into everything that we do. Nevertheless, we are paying particular attention the latest government guidance on the transmission of coronavirus.

All of the frames on display, the equipment we use and all surfaces are cleaned and disinfected regularly to keep the practice as sterile as needed and as often as needed.

Know the guidance

Before attending the practice for your next appointment, we would be grateful if you would review the most up to date government guidance – just click this link https://www/nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covd19/

Keep us in the loop

Please remember that we are open, as normal, and to call us on the practice telephone number or email us to let us know if you wish to reschedule any of your booked appointments. We would be happy to schedule an alternative date for you. 

At your next appointment

Please forgive us if we don’t shake hands – but we are however happy to do the elbow bump – just ask! 

You’ll notice that we’ve removed some non-essential items in the reception area including the magazines. They will return once this is all over!

As a team, we are doing everything we possibly can to remain fit, well and able to work so that we can continue to provide our usual high standard of dental care for you.

Thank you for your support in keeping everyone safe.

Testimonials

Mrs SF, Bishops Waltham, August 2019

“What a friendly and professional service given to me both by the optometrist, Bish Ashleigh and also by Leigh who is the lens and frame expert. Many thanks and I have had lovely comments on my new look!”

J Brisley, May 2019

“My son had his eyes tested and a dyslexia colour test done by Bish at Bishops Waltham. Bish was so patient and put my son at ease, did not rush him through the process and kept me informed of what he was checking for. Previous glasses provided by another company turned out to be the wrong prescription! The office staff were amazing and couldn’t do enough to help, wonderful service. Would definitely recommend.”

Mr J.B, Portsmouth, June 2019

“Excellent service and advice”

Mr P.S Portsmouth, May 2017

“Excellent service , thorough eye test and great glasses without any rush!”

Ms G.S Portsmouth, October 2016

“A big thank you for all your help and service”

Mr B.G Portsmouth, December 2016

“The ‘A’ team at Ashleigh Sight Care thank you for all your help and advice. Felt like being at home“

Mrs J.L Portsmouth, July 2017

“Thanks for everything you are very kind always helpful and always smiling”

Mrs SM, Romsey, August 2019

“Cheerful, helpful and efficient. What more could one ask? All of the staff were very helpful when it came to explaining both my eye problems and also adjusting my new gasses that I bought form elsewhere. They made them fit much better and although the vision was better, I still need to go back to where I bought them”

M. Oscroft, Romsey June 2017

“Everyone is always very welcoming and cheerful. Also, very helpful and patient”

Mr A Pearce, Romsey, August 2019

“Always a pleasure coming to see Dr. Ashleigh and her team. Professional and very caring people, with no hard sell and such a wonderful range of frames. I also had a second pair of free lenses that will do nicely for my holiday next month to warmer climes!“

Dr E Cooper, Romsey September 2016

“Excellent team of girls. Mrs Ashleigh always gives us a great eye test. Been coming here for years. Always taken time and care with choosing our glasses”

MA Parsons, Romsey, November 2015

“I’ve always been treated very well here .Mrs Ashleigh gives a great eye test very through .Choosing glasses with the girls is great they never rush me and help is there if I need it.”

A Emery, Romsey, December 2015

“This is the only optician I love to visit they are all so friendly and very helpful .Nothing is too much trouble. Their customer service is excellent”

TP & AP Fair Oak, October 2015

“Good afternoon Tracey I know that you spoke with my wife on the phone and she said how happy I was with my new glasses but I just wanted to add my comments. They are absolutely wonderful and I have mastered the use of the variable lenses very quickly as a result of your tuition. The prescription was obviously scientifically precise and the quality of image is a joy whatever the distance. You are a wonderful opticians run by an amazingly caring and technically brilliant group of individuals. I’m tempted to buy another vintage frame just to taste the service again. My best wishes and thanks to you Tracey, Gill and of course the astonishing Bish. Best wishes”

PM. Fair Oak, November 2015

“Thank you so much for caring for my father. He felt in really safe hands. The fact that you took him to the hospital personally was a piece of outstanding service”

A.V. Eastleigh October 2015

“Due to my illness I have not had my eyes tested for many years and felt very nervous attending my appointment. I found the staff so friendly and welcoming that I completely relaxed. The test was longer than I expected but really in depth. The optician was very reassuring. Thank you for your time and care”

T.P. Fair Oak August 2015

“I had my eyes tested somewhere else but had to get my money back as the test and glasses were unsatisfactory. I’m glad that I took a chance and came to the local village practice. The atmosphere is completely different. Bish (I think that is correct), who tested my eyes was thorough and so knowledgeable. There was no hard sell by Tracey after my test but I did have new glasses which are superb and, unlike my preconceived ideas, not expensive!”

HL (aged 9) (Fair Oak) September 2015

“I think this is the best opticians in the UK. I recommend this to every one in the UK”

Derek J Barney (Fair Oak) September 2013

“Very happy with my treatment. The whole event was very professional, pleasant staff, nothing too much trouble”

NB, Southampton, August 2019

“Fantastic service, and the most thorough eye examination that I have ever had. Everything was explained to me by Claudi as she worked through the process completely unhurried – so refreshing nowadays. I opted for the OCT scan which was well worth the extra cost for the assurance that all is well. I can’t fault the service, level of experience, and friendliness that the team provided – and would recommend Ashleigh Sight Care to everyone (as indeed I already have started to do). And my new glasses look brilliant with the thin lenses and Armani frames. Thank you so much, everyone!”

Emma Merritt (Fair Oak) October 2013

“Excellent service and made my children confident”

Mrs Strand (Fair Oak) September 2013

“Very thorough and helpful. I have recommended your practice to all the school mums – you are brilliant with my children”

Mrs Lawrence (Fair Oak) September 2013

“Always exceptional and helpful advice. A very friendly atmosphere which is very important as I am often in on a regular basis with my 9-year old son to see Tracey”

Mr & Mrs Seagrove (Romsey, Hants) September 2013

“Very satisfied customers because of very professional service. Our thanks”

JB (Southampton) September 2013

“Brilliant! Staff very helpful. Good advice. Make you feel very welcome”

Mrs Chapman (Southampton) September 2013

“Excellent! So glad that I came back to this opticians”

D. Mitchell (Romsey, Hants) September 2013

“All jolly good”

Mr BL (Fair Oak, Hants) September 2013

“I received very professional service and attention at a time when my eye health was suddenly poor. I was wonderfully re-assured that my eye health wasn’t as bad as I had though and the results were explained to me very clearly, simply and carefully by Mr Ashleigh. He showed me a scan of the inside of my eyes, the problem I had recently had due to Macular Degeneration and a prompt referrral resulted in his saving my vision from deteriorating further. I will be forever grateful to this practice”

Mrs F (Southsea, Hants) August 2013

“Everyone at this practice took lots of time over me and my eye care. The glasses look good on me – and I can see much better with them. I was surprised that they cost less than I thought. The last ones from a shop in the City Centre were a bit cheaper but didn’t last very long. I will definately stay at this new practice”

Mrs JS (Bishops Waltham, Hants) August 2013

“I will now change to you from my old opticians. Your optician gave me much more time in the eye test, let me take some frames home for my husband to see (and I had never been to you before!) and the finished glasses were BEAUTIFUl. This level of service is absolutely unheard of in the 21st century. Well done to this practice.”

Mrs V. N. (Portsmouth) November 2012

”I was looked after very well. A very friendly and happy team. The best test that I have ever had – Becky was the Optician’s name”

Prof. R.N (Southampton) December 2016

”One of your commentors said ‘Could’ve gone elsewhere’ and so I decided to try you, instead of the ‘Should’ve gone to xxx’ place I tried last time. What a terrific difference. I had quite forgotten how customer service used to be at one time – until my visit to your practice reminded me! What a lovely place to have your eyes tested. Everyone was so friendly, the lovely German Dr. Ashleigh extremely competent and thorough … as well as a decent range of glasses and most competent staff . Nobody rushed or hurried me and Mrs Ashleigh took a lot of care and time explaining features about my eyes and showing my the photographs of the inside of my eyes. An experience and level of service that I had forgotten still exists in rare places such as this “

M.B. (Bitterne, Southampton) January 2012

”Personally, I can only say that one would go a long way to find a practice so warm and friendly and efficient as Ashleigh’s. It is a pleasure to walk in and be greeted by such a splendid team.”

Sue Hart (Fair Oak, Hants) October 2012

”Tracey couldn’t have been more helpful. Excellent service! I am really thrilled with both my ordinary glasses and my sunglasses – thank you!”

Mrs K Fitzsimmons (Fair Oak, Hants) October 2012

”Everyone is so friendly. You all made me feel so comfortable. I think all of the staff are very good at their jobs – and clearly like working there!”

Patrick Kelly (Fair Oak, Hants) December 2012

”Very professional service. I was given the confidence that my eyes were examined and results explained to me very clearly, simply and carefully by Mr Ashleigh. He showed me a scan of the inside of my eyes and I was very relieved to find that they were completely clear and healthy.”

S. Sammons (Portsmouth) December 2012

”The time and care given in helping me to choose suitable and comfortable new frames has been exceptional in comparison with other opticians and larger practises. I am extremely grateful and very happy with my new glasses and assured of ongoing care”

A.S. (Fair Oak, Hants) November 2012

”I have been with you for many years and I’d like to say that you have been consistently excellent year to year to year. You set an example to others where a different person sees you each time where the short time taken and the quality of eye tests varies so much. I don’t like to be in and out in ten minutes – I like to spend time and care when it comes to my eyes since this pair have to last me a lifetime!”

Mr D.P. (Bitterne, Southampton) November 2012

”I have always found the staff very helpful and understanding. They take lots of time and are always chatty and happy and they have a good selection of frames. The eye test is first class and the optician, Lara, took lots of time and care with me”

Mrs R.A. (Bishops Waltham) December 2012

”Experienced and friendly people at Ashleigh’s. They always have time for a chat and a laugh – but good and competent at their respective jobs. I like this place”

Mrs R.D. (Romsey) December 2012

”Mrs Ashleigh and staff: Many thanks for sorting out problems regarding spectacles I bought from one of the big High Street stores. Even though you had not supplied my glasses, you and your staff had no hesitation in sorting out the problems …. and I was very pleased with the outcome. I can now see better and I am going to enjoy my Christams even more! Well done!!!”

M.B. (Bitterne, Southampton) January 2012

”Personally, I can only say that one would go a long way to find a practice so warm and friendly and efficient as Ashleigh’s. It is a pleasure to walk in at Portswood and be greeted by such a splendid team.”

Mrs P. T. (Bassett, Southampton), January 2012

”It was particularly helpful having the changes (in my eyes) and of my sight deteriorating and the reasons for them, explained so clearly. Helpful, too, to know that new spectacles can correct this.”

Mr. D.L. (Chandlers Ford), June 2012

“Excellent service. A very pleasant experience. I felt very welcome, with no rush. Very good advice. Thank you!”

Mrs. M. S. (Highfield, Southampton), July 2012

“Everyone is so friendly and people are put at their ease. Thank you so much!”

Nick Bishop (Chandlers Ford), March 2017

”Fantastic service, and the most thorough eye check I have ever had. Everything was explained to me by Bish as he worked through the process completely unhurried – so refreshing nowadays. I opted for the OCT scan which was well worth the extra cost for the assurance that all is well. I can’t fault the service, level of experience, and friendliness that the team provide, and would recommend Ashleigh Sight Care to everyone (as indeed I already have started to do). Thank you!”

Mrs B. A. (Chilworth, Southampton), April 2017

“What a lovely optician! I had a great eye test at this practice and everything was like it used to be – no rush, no hurry and the eye test took 45 minutes. I had all the trimmings – eye pressures, visual fields, eye scan, eye photos and loads of other tests I’ve never had before. Could’ve gone elsewhere – but this was perfect.”

S. E Lock (Horton Heath), November 2011

“I found that everyone at Ashleigh Sight Care spent more time with me from start to finish. I didn’t feel rushed and knew I was receiving a high standard of care. My glassses and contact lenses were ready within a week and I know that if I have any problems at all, I can rely on them for help as soon as possible. I am pleased that I didn’t go back to the High Street chain that I had previously visited – where I felt I was a number on a conveyor-belt!!”

S. Roberts (Fair Oak, Hants), November 2011

“I have been very pleased with your professional, caring and efficient service.”

Mrs G.D (Romsey), May 2017

“Thank you so very much for very kindly agreeing to replace my right hand lens of my new glasses, both that and the repositioning of the fitting have greatly improved the sight and ease with which I can walk. Thank you again for your kind help.”

Mrs R.D (Romsey), December 2011

“With many thanks for helping to sort out the problems with my glasses even though they were made elsewhere.”

J.Hopkins (Andover, Hants), November 2011

“Great Service!”

S.Smith (Bishopstoke, Hants), June 2017

“A very friendly and professional service. Thank you!”

Mrs. P.M.

“What a splendid place. Felt more like being at home than an opticians. Everyone is SO friendly and the place was buzzing! A credit to your profession … so efficient and about time that someone valued their service to their customers – well done everyone at this practice”

Laura B.

“Nothing is ever too much trouble. Tracey has come to my house to fix my glasses when I was ill and collected myself and my wife for our appointments, dropped us home and delivered my new glasses. All the staff deserve a medal. I think that is why we need a good old fashioned local optician.”

Menu close icon